Slips-And-Fall Injuries Can Occur To Anyone In Any Location
Whether you have slipped in a spilled liquid at the grocery store or stumbled on a cracked sidewalk, if your fall was due to the negligence of another, you may be entitled to substantial compensation for any resulting damages. If this is you, you will need someone who can fight while you heal. Speak with our team at Law Badgers PLLC as soon as possible. The sooner we can get involved, the more likely it is that we will be able to help.
Our Phoenix personal injury attorneys are skilled at recovering compensation for victims of falls, no matter the cause. Big insurance companies do not scare us, and they will not be able to intimidate you into settling for less than you deserve if we are by your side. If you have been injured in a fall, call us today to speak with a skilled Arizona slip-and-fall attorney: 480-856-8128.
What Should You Know About Slip-And-Fall Accidents In Arizona?
Following a fall, the first thing you should do is seek medical attention. Get your injuries treated and documented right away. In addition to helping you recover, seeking medical treatment can be beneficial to your case.
There are four important factors that the victim must be able to prove for a successful claim after a slip-and-fall. These are:
- Duty – The defendant owed the victim a duty of care
- Breach – The defendant breached that duty
- Causation – The breach caused the victim to suffer injuries, and
- Damages – The victim suffered actual damages (medical expenses, lost wages, pain and suffering, etc.) as a result.
You Have A Limited Time To File A Lawsuit For Damages
In Arizona, slips-and-falls fit under the broad category of “personal injury.” The statute of limitations, or the time period after the accident in which you can file a lawsuit, is two years. It is also critical to your claim to keep notes about the date of your fall, the facts surrounding the accident and any contact information of witnesses who may have seen the event occur.
One exception to this legal deadline is in the case of death. If your loved one died as the result of an injury following a fall, the statute of limitations is two years from the date of that person’s death. Sometimes, if an elderly individual falls at a care home, their injuries may become complicated or worsen other conditions, leading to a wrongful death. If you have questions regarding any type of fall, contact our office today.
You May Seek Compensation Even If You Are Partially At Fault
Under Arizona’s comparative negligence laws, you may be able to recover compensation even if you are partially at fault for your fall. What does this mean? For example, you may be partially at fault for your injuries if you were walking through a store while looking at your phone and you fell into a hole that may have otherwise been noticeable. The store owner may claim that they are not responsible for your injuries, even if they knew that the hole was present and posed a potential danger to customers.
Through “comparative negligence,” compensation is based on the percentage of fault all parties have in a situation. For example, if the total damages amount to $10,000 and the store owner is found to be 75% at fault and you are 25% at fault, you would still receive $7,500.
Your Visitor Status Could Affect Your Compensation
Not all fall victims are individuals that are supposed to be on a property – i.e., they may be trespassers. Property owners do not owe trespassers the same duty of care as invitees or licensees, unless they are a child. Even then, the laws are specific, and an attorney can investigate the accident and situation thoroughly.
Typically, only individuals who are legally on the property where the accident occurs may recover for damages after a fall. If you have fallen, no matter the location, call our slip-and-fall attorneys to discuss your circumstances and the dangerous property conditions.
Contact Law Badgers PLLC In Phoenix Today
After a fall, you may feel helpless. But with our team at Law Badgers PLLC, this does not have to be the case. We are here to support you as you heal, fighting the battle against the big insurance companies, property owners and anyone else responsible for your injuries. Send us an email or call our office at 480-856-8128 for a free and confidential consultation about your case.